Loading Programs

« All Programs

  • This program has passed.

Criminal Law Forensics Conference

Friday, October 19, 2018 | 9:00am - 4:00pm UTC

Program Faculty:

In alphabetical order

Officer Jason R. Callinan
Crash Investigator, Traffic Enforcement Unit
Cambridge Police Department

Hon. Beverly J. Cannone
Associate Justice, Suffolk Superior Court

Hon. Mitchell Kaplan
Associate Justice, Suffolk Superior Court

Christopher W. Kelly
Director, Digital Evidence Laboratory
Attorney General’s Office

Hon. Peter B. Krupp
Associate Justice, Norfolk Superior Court

ADA Adrienne C. Lynch
Chief, Homicide & Unsolved
Middlesex District Attorney’s Office

ADA Kate B. MacDougall
Chief, Family Crimes and Sexual Assault Unit
Essex District Attorney’s Office

David Rangaviz, Esq.
Committee for Public Counsel Services

Dr. Jack E. Richman
Police Physician
SFST/Drug Recognition Expert Instructor
Hingham Police Department

Larry R. Tipton, Esq.
Attorney-in-Charge, Norfolk County Superior Court Office
Committee for Public Counsel Services

Hon. Kathe M. Tuttman
Associate Justice, Middlesex Superior Court

Sharon Walsh
Massachusetts State Police Crime Laboratory

Not only must judges play a significant role in the courtroom when law intersects science, but technologies used in the field of forensic science continue to progress rapidly over time. This full-day conference for both experienced and new judges will cover a myriad of important criminal forensic topics:

  • PCAST Report
  • DNA
  • Hair Analysis
  • Presumptive Testing
  • Blood Splatter
  • Firearm Examination/Ballistics
  • Latent Print Examination
  • Probabilistic Genetics
  • Cell Phone Searches
  • CSLI
  • Stingray Technology
  • Computer Searches
  • Social Networking
  • Body Cameras

In addition, the agenda will also include:

  • Daubert-Lanigan Hearings and Requirements
  • Drug Recognition Experts in Marijuana Cases
  • Eyewitness Identification

Attend this program to stay on top of changes, trends, and the law. Ample time will be allotted for participants to ask questions of the experts.

Planning Committee:
In alphabetical order

Hon. Kathleen E. Coffey, BMC – West Roxbury; Hon. Mark S. Coven, Quincy District Court; Hon. Paul L. McGill, District Court; Hon. Kathe M. Tuttman, Middlesex Superior Court; ADA Adrienne C. Lynch, Middlesex DA’s Office; and Larry R. Tipton, Esq., Committee for Public Counsel Services


Friday, October 19, 2018
9:00am - 4:00pm UTC
Program Categories:
, ,